ISU Spring

The Iowa Board of Regents has named a 21-person panel to come up with finalists to be Iowa State University's 16th president.

The committee will be co-chaired by Dan Houston, President and CEO of Principal Financial Group, and Luis Gutierrez, Dean of the Iowa State College of Design.“This committee represents the faculty, staff, students, and alumni of Iowa State University and the Ames community,” said Board of Regents Executive Director Robert Donley.

 “Selecting the next president of Iowa State University is important work that the selection committee takes very seriously.”

The committee consists of eight members of the ISU faculty and two students in addition to representatives from the ISU Alumni Association, the ISU Foundation, and the Ames community. 

Regents Patty Cownie, Sherry Bates, Milt Dakovich, and Nancy Boettger also will serve on the committee with Donley and Board of Regents Chief Operating Officer Mark Braun serving in ex-officio non-voting roles.The committee will first meet next month.  The Board wants a new ISU President by this October.

The panel is charged with replacing ISU President Steven Leath, who left Ames to run Auburn University.