Iowa Youth Straw Poll keeps status quo, but one RESULTS

Iowa Secretary of State meets with students preparing for Iowa Student Straw Poll

DES MOINES, Iowa - The people who can't vote in the November 6 election got to cast their vote today.  

More than 38,000 underage students, not yet eligible to vote in the real election, voted this week in the  annual Iowa Youth Straw Poll conducted by the Secretary of State's office.

Republicans swept the youth vote in the Iowa races for Governor and Congress.

Kim Reynolds defeated Democratic candidate Fred Hubbell in the Governor's race.

Republicans Rod Blum, David Young, and Steve King were re-elected for Congress.

The one change voted in by the kids is Republican Christopher Peters, defeating Democratic incumbent Dave Loebsack for Congress.

CLICK HERE for more results.

The real election, for grown ups, is this Tuesday November 6. 

We'll have live election results after the voting ends Tuesday night, starting after 9 p.m. on your local Iowa iHeartMedia stations.  

Des Moines - Newsradio 1040 WHO

Cedar Rapids and Iowa City - Newsradio 600 WMT

Ames - Newsradio 1430 KASI  


Content Goes Here