Iowa State naming annual athlete awards after Thompson, Arozamena

AMES, Iowa- Iowa State University's renaming it's awards for the top male and female athletes of the year.

ISU says the Male Athlete of the Year will carry the name of Gary Thompson, a two-time All American basketball player for Iowa State.

The Female Athlete of the Year Award will be renamed for three-time All Big 12 golfer, Celia Barquin Arozamena.

Arozamena was killed in an attack on an Ames golf course last year.