Gov. Reynolds issues disaster proclamation for western Iowa counties

DES MOINES, Iowa -- Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds has issued a disaster proclamation for four Western Iowa counties.

It covers Fremont, Harrison, Mills, and Pottawattamie counties as a result of renewed flooding along the Missouri River.

It allows state resources to be used to respond to and recover from the effects of flooding. It also activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program for qualifying residents.

Flood warnings went up in that area earlier this week. The Honey Creek area is being inundated after two Missouri River levees broke.