12 Applicants for Iowa Supreme Court Announced, Interviews to Begin

DES MOINES, Iowa - Twelve people applied with the State Judicial Nominating Commission to fill the vacancy on the Iowa Supreme Court.

The opening occurred when Chief Justice Mark Cady died in November.

The 12 applicants will interviewed in the Iowa Supreme Court Courtroom on January 9th.

The nominating commission will then select three nominees that'll be forwarded to Governor Reynolds, who will have 30 days to appoint a new justice.

The applicants and the times they'll be interviewed are listed below:

9:00 a.m. Craig Nierman, Attorney, Phelan, Tucker, Mullen, Walker, Tucker & Gelman, L.L.P., Iowa Cit

9:20 a.m. Lisa Reel Schmidt, Assistant Attorney General, Iowa Attorney General’s Office, Des Moines

9:40 a.m. Theresa Wilson, Assistant Appellate Defender, Office of the State Appellate Defender, Des Moines

10:00 a.m. Dana Oxley, Attorney, Shuttleworth & Ingersoll, PLC, Cedar Rapids

10:20 a.m. Mary Chicchelly, District Court Judge, Sixth Judicial District, Cedar Rapids

11:00 a.m. Matthew McDermott, Attorney, Belin McCormick, P.C., Des Moines

11:20 a.m. Alan Ostergren, Muscatine County Attorney, Letts

11:40 am. William Miller,Attorney, Dorsey & Whitney LLP, Des Moines

12:40 p.m. Joel Barrows, District Court Judge, Seventh Judicial District, Bettendorf

1:00 p.m. David May, Iowa Court of Appeals, Polk City

1:20 p.m. Timothy Gartin, Attorney, Hastings, Gartin & Boettger, LLP, Ames

1:40 p.m. Romonda Belcher, District Associate Judge, 5thJudicial District, Des Moines

Find out more about the applicants' background and how to comment on the them here.

You can live stream the interviews of the 12 applicants here.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content