Three nominees selected for Iowa Supreme Court

DES MOINES, Iowa - Three nominees have been selected as finalists for the Iowa Supreme Court.

The nominating commission interviewed 15 people who applied for the position Friday and narrowed the field to three that Governor Kim Reynolds will select from.

The three nominees are Mary Chicchelly of Cedar Rapids, Matt McDermott of Des Moines  and David May of Polk City. The governor now has 30 days to appoint the new judge.

The vacancy is occur when Justice David Wiggins retires.

The 17-member nominating commission is composed of eight commissioners elected by lawyers licensed to practice law in Iowa and nine commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content