Iowa Added to Chicago Quarantine List

Self isolating at home.

DES MOINES, Iowa - Iowans traveling to Chicago will soon have to self quarantine for two weeks.

Chicago has added two states to its travel order, which requires travelers visiting the city from certain states to self-quarantine for 14 days.

Beginning Friday, the order will include Iowa and Oklahoma. Fines for violating the Chicago order are $100-$500 per day, and are capped at $7,000.

Iowa was added to a quarantine list for Pennsylvania last weekend, and has been on quarantine list for New York, New Jersey and Connecticut since late last month.

Chicago first issued an emergency travel order for 15 states that took effect on July 6. That order included Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah.

The order is set to remain in effect until further notice and the list of states is scheduled to be reviewed every Tuesday.

The order applies to states that have a case rate greater than 15 new COVID-19 cases per 100,000 resident population, per day, over a 7-day rolling average.

Iowa has seen a steady growth in COVID-19 cases during the past several weeks.

Earlier in the Covid-19 pandemic, Chicago was a hot spot for outbreaks, but has since seen its infection rate drop significantly.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content