Former Iowa players to be inducted in 2021 College Football Hall of Fame

(Undated) -- Two former Iowa Hawkeye Football players are to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Quarterback Bob Stoops and left end Andre Tippett are included in the 2021 class. Tippett is being inducted for his accomplishments as an Iowa player between 1979 through 1981.

Tippett was drafted in1982 by the New England Patriots, where he spent eleven seasons. He was a member of three playoff teams, including the 1985 AFC champions. Tippett was a five-time Pro Bowler, two-time first-team All-Pro and the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1985. He is a member of the New England Patriots Hall of Fame and in 2008 was selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

In 2007, Tippett was elected to the National Iowa Varsity Club Hall of Fame.

Stoops is being included for his coaching record at Oklahoma, where he compiled a record of 190 wins and 48-losses. Stoops was a four-year starter for Iowa, from 1979 through 1982. As a senior he was named first-team All-Big Ten and Iowa's Most Valuable Player. Stoops began his coaching career at Iowa under Hayden Fry, from 1983-87.

(Photos from

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content