The Nebraska Legislature is officially non-partisan

Flag of Nebraska

Photo: Getty Images

The Nebraska Legislature's redistricting committee releases its initial proposals for new congressional maps.

Republicans on the officially non-partisan committee are proposing that Douglas County be split between the first and second district.

The second district would include the southern half of Douglas County, along with all of Sarpy County and Saunders County.

The first district would include northwest Omaha and Lincoln.

Committee Democrats propose a second district that would keep all of Douglas County together and then add Bellevue and Offutt Air Force Base.

The committee's final map is expected on Friday, with public hearings being held throughout next week

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content