Creighton's Ryan Kalkbrenner Named To Watch List For Oscar Robertson Trophy

Photo: Creighton Athletics

(Omaha, NE) -- Creighton center Ryan Kalkbrenner is one of 50 players nationally to be named to the Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List.

The United States Basketball Writers Association made the announcement on Thursday. Kalkbrenner is one of five Big East players on the list, joining Souley Boum (Xavier), Bryce Hopkins (Providence), Adama Sonogo (Connecticut) and Joel Soriano (St. John's). Kalbrenner is just the second Creighton player in head coach Greg McDermott's 13 seasons to make the Midseason Watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, joining Doug McDermott in 2011-12, 2012-13 and 2013-14. McDermott became the lone Creighton recipient ever to win the Oscar Robertson Trophy when he was recognized following the 2013-14 campaign.

Kalkbrenner leads Creighton with 14.9 points per game and leads the Big East with 2.2 blocked shots per contest. He ranks third nationally in field goal percentage (.729) and is second on the Bluejays with 7.0 rebounds per game. Creighton is 11-8 on the season and fourth in the BIG EAST with a 5-3 record heading into Wednesday's 8 p.m. home game vs. St. John's.

The USBWA’s list highlights 50 outstanding players from 18 different conferences. Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the award. The winner of the award will be announced at the 2023 Men's Final Four in Houston with the formal presentation to follow at the annual USBWA Awards Luncheon hosted by the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. All Division I players remain eligible for the 2022-23 Oscar Robertson Trophy. The watch list merely spotlights the top candidates, as selected by the USBWA board.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content