Iowa Governor announces flooding disaster declaration

DES MOINES, Iowa- Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds has issued a disaster proclamation for the State of Iowa in response to flooding and severe weather beginning March 13th and continuing. She's also activated Iowa's State Emergency Operations Center to coordinate the response to Iowa's flooding.

The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEMD) along with several state and federal agencies, is monitoring rapidly-evolving conditions at locations throughout the state.

The governor's proclamation allows state resources to be used to respond to and recover from the effects of this severe weather across the entire state and activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program for qualifying residents, along with the Disaster Case Management Program for the following 21-counties:

Butler, Cerro Gordo, Clayton, Hancock, Harrison, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Kossuth, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, O'Brien, Pottawattamie, Sioux, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Worth, and Wright.

(Photo of George Flagg Parkway in Des Moines from National Weather Service)