WEST DES MOINES, Iowa – Aug. 12, 2014– Phil Cummings of Center Point was crowned the 2014 Iowa Farm Bureau Cookout Contest winner.  Cummings and his winning entry, Mediterranean Lamb Pops, beat out 50 other grillers, representing counties from around the state, to win the 51st annual contest. The Iowa Farm Bureau-sponsored contest featured outdoor chefs, with varying levels of experience, using their best grilling, roasting and smoking techniques to impress the judges.  “Cooking has become a family affair for us,” said Cummings, who competed in the Cookout Contest against both his wife and daughter.  “It’s something we love to do together as a family, and it’s great that Halane and Molly were also recognized for their entries today.”   

Cookout Contest champion, Cummings, won first place in the lamb category before being selected by the judges as the overall winner.  He received $200, a crown, and a permanent trophy as the 2014 Iowa Farm Bureau Cookout Contest Champion.

Other first place winners and their categories were: Pete Wonders of Waukee, pork; Dawn Richards of Vinton, beef; Steve Heaberlin of Indianola, poultry; Denny Hanson of Alden, turkey; and Dustin Wilson of West Point, combo/specialty.  All winners received $150.

Second place winners and their categories were: Nick Siedelmann of Linden, lamb; Molly Cummings of Center Point, pork; Randy Stamper of Greenfield, beef; Elsie Schafer of Mt. Ayr, poultry; Jason Cronk of Toledo, turkey; and Mark Kunkle of Guthrie Center, combo/specialty.  All second–place finishers received $100.

Winners in special categories were youth first place – Baylee Jensen of Indianola and youth second place – Elsie Schafer of Mt. Ayr; showmanship – Halane Cummings of Center Point; and team –

Luke Evans, Ken Hageman, and Joel Porter, all from Boone.  The youth winner received a gas grill and $150 and second place received $100.  Youth prizes were donated by the Iowa Propane Association.  The showmanship winner received $150.  The team winners received $200.      

Prize sponsors for the Cookout Contest include: the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Farm Bureau Financial Services, GROWMARK, Inc., Iowa Propane Gas Association, Iowa Pork Producers Association, the Iowa Beef Industry Council, the Iowa Turkey Federation, Iowa Poultry Association, and the Iowa Sheep and Wool Promotion Board.