Iowa Senate Democrats elect new leader

Iowa Senate Democrats unexpectedly elected a new leader Sunday.

Senator Janet Petersen of Des Moines was elected in a closed-door caucus on Sunday to replace Sen. Rob Hogg

Sen. Rob Hogg of Cedar Rapids took the reins of his party in January of this year, after Mike Gronstal was defeated in a re-election bid.  

No member of the Democratic caucus was willing to say what prompted the change.  However, Hogg is among the Democrats that party leaders say may run for governor next year.  

Petersen is in her second term in the Iowa Senate.  Previously she served six terms in the Iowa House.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content