USDA offering Midwest producers emergency support

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 102 Illinois counties and 53 Missouri counties as primary natural disaster areas while offering emergency support to some in Iowa. Producers who suffered losses due to excessive moisture, flooding and flash flooding that has occurred since Sept. 1, 2018, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This includes Appanoose, Clinton, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Dubuque, Jackson, Lee, Louisa, Muscatine, Ringgold,Scott, Van Buren, and Wayne counties in Iowa

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online by clicking here.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content