Polk County going on burn ban

(Des Moines, IA) -- Polk County will be added to a list of nearly 30-counties scattered across the state on a burn ban due to dry and windy conditions.

Polk County Emergency Management says the burn ban will go into effect Saturday, October 17th at 6 a.m. in all of Polk County, with the exception of Saylor Township- which requested not to be included.

The State Fire Marshall's Office Friday afternoon listed nearly 30-counties in Iowa on burn bans. Dry fields and grasses, combined with strong winds expected this weekend are expected to create hazardous conditions for fires to spread very quickly.

(Photo of prescribed fire from Iowa State University)

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content