Farmers in Cedar Rapids-Iowa City Region Now Eligible for Derecho Aid

DES MOINES - Seven additional Iowa counties are now listed as primary disaster areas from the August derecho.

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has designated Benton, Johnson, Keokuk, Linn, Powesheik, Tama and Washington counties to join 42 counties already covered.

A disaster designation makes farmers in the counties eligible for federal assistance, including emergency loans.

The farmers then have eight months to apply for help.

Governor Kim Reynolds released a statement Sunday announcing the seven counties added to the disaster declaration.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content