Iowa Cities, Counties Restate Mask Orders After State Mandate Lifted

IOWA - Numerous Iowa cities and counties are restating their mask requirements after Governor Kim Reynolds lifted a statewide order over the weekend.

Six cities and three counties in eastern Iowa issued statements Monday saying their mask requirements would stay in place.

They include the cities of Cedar Rapids, Iowa City, Dubuque, Cedar Falls, North Liberty and Coralville as well as the counties of Linn, Johnson and Dubuque. The city of Des Moines has also left its mask order in place.

The state has said local governments don't have the power to enforce mask orders on their own.

Reynolds issued a proclamation Friday that removed the mask requirement for people spending 15 minutes or more in an indoor area within 6 feet of other people not in their household.

The order also ended limits on the number of customers in a business or a requirement that they stay socially distant. The new rules went into effect on Sunday prior to the Super Bowl.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content