Seventeen Iowa counties covered under disaster proclamations

Photo: Elkader, Iowa Fire Department

(Des Moines, IA) -- Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds has issued a disaster proclamation for two more counties after recent severe weather. Pocahontas [[ poke-ah-HON-as ]] and Worth counties in northern Iowa now qualify for state assistance.

The governor previously issued weather-related disaster proclamations for 15-counties due to recent severe weather.

Those counties include: Allamakee, Bremer, Buchanan, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Emmet, Fayette, Floyd, Howard, Kossuth, Lyon, Mitchell, Palo Alto, and Winneshiek. The proclamations activate the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program and the Disaster Case Management Program in those counties.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website at Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content