Iowa defeats Iowa State 27-17 to secure 6th consecutive Cy-Hawk victory

Iowa v Iowa State

Photo: Getty Images

(Ames, IA) -- The Iowa Hawkeyes defeat the Iowa State Cyclones 27-17 to claim the Cy-Hawk trophy. Iowa extends its winning streak over Iowa State to 6 consecutive victories, dating as far back as 2015. The Hawkeyes have held 24 straight opponents to 24 points or less.

The Cyclones turned the ball over 4 times. Iowa State quarterback Brock Purdy threw three interceptions and Breece Hall lost a fumble. The Hawkeyes would turn those four turnovers into 20 of their 27 total points. During the six-game winning streak for the Hawkeyes, Iowa is plus-9 in the turnover battle with only one giveaway.

The Hawkeyes improve their overall record to 2 wins and no losses on the season, as the Cyclones drop to 1 win and 1 loss.

The Cyclones will travel to Las Vegas next week to take on the UNLV Rebels, as the Hawkeyes return to Iowa City to play Kent State.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content