Des Moines Area Fireworks Dos and Don'ts

(Des Moines, IA) -- Independence Day is less than two weeks away and Iowans will have more places to buy fireworks this year. Now, which fireworks allowed to be fired off varies from town to town.

A few examples in the Des Moines Metro:


  • Use of fireworks is limited to July 4, 9 a.m. – 11 p.m., in Ankeny. All cities and counties in the metro have different rules. This includes the use of first and second class consumer fireworks only.
  • Explosives such as M-80s, quarter sticks and display fireworks are illegal.
  • Residents may only use consumer fireworks on their own personal property or on the property of a person who has consented to the use of consumer fireworks on his/her property.
  • Use of fireworks on any public property is prohibited. This includes city streets, public parking lots, parks, etc.


  • As a reminder, the use of legal fireworks within the Waukee city limits is allowed only on July 3 and 4 between the hours of 9 a.m. and 11 p.m. on those respective days.
  • Exploding or discharging consumer fireworks on days/times other than those allowed is punishable by a fine of not less than $250 per violation.


  • Johnston prohibits the use of fireworks within the city limits. Disregarding the fireworks ordinance is a violation and is punishable by a fine up to a $500 per violation.


  • Urbandale Prohibits the Use of Fireworks


  • No person shall use, explode, discharge any consumer fireworks on days other than July 3, between the hours 2:00 p.m. and 10:00 p.m. and July 4, between the hours 2:00 p.m. and 11:00 p.m.
  • No person shall use or ignite Fireworks of any Class (as set forth under Iowa Code Chapter 100), unless they are at least 18 years of age or they are in the immediate presence of a parent or guardian ho has consented to supervise. This age prohibition shall not be applicable in regards to use of: Snakes, sparklers, or caps.

People are encouraged to call their town leaders to learn which fireworks they can fire, if any, and where they can fire them. Fireworks are only allowed to be fired off from June 1st to July 8th and December 10th to January 3rd each year in the state. A new law this year restricts towns in Iowa from restricting the sale of fireworks. Residents are asked to be courteous to their neighbors and to use good judgment when igniting fireworks.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content