New Era Begins In Central Iowa High School Football

Fifty yard line on football field

Photo: Getty Images

(Undated) -- A new era is beginning for central Iowa high school football. Eleven teams make up the new Iowa Alliance Athletic Conference. The new conference has two divisions: The South division includes: East, Hoover, Lincoln, North, Roosevelt, and Ottumwa. The North includes Ames, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown, Mason City, and Waterloo East.

Des Moines Interim Superintendent Matt Smith says he's excited about the new conference, noting it lead to new relationships and rivalries. He says the athletes in the Des Moines high schools are excited about the change.

The teams split from the CIML conference. Schools in the CIML include: Ankeny, Ankeny Centennial, Dowling Catholic, Johnston, Southeast Polk, Urbandale, Waukee, and Waukee Northwest, and West Des Moines Valley.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content