FEMA Assessing Tornado Damage In Nebraska And Iowa

Photo: Photo by Charlie Colon

(Omaha, NE) -- FEMA teams are continuing to canvass neighborhoods affected by the April tornadoes in Douglas and Washington counties in Nebraska. In Iowa, FEMA Disaster Survivor Assistance (DSA) teams are beginning work in Pottawattamie and Shelby counties, then visiting other Iowa counties.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency can provide money for help with serious needs, including paying for a temporary place to live, home repairs, medical expenses, and other needs not covered by insurance.

DSA personnel help homeowners and renters apply with FEMA, and they can quickly identify and address immediate and emerging needs.

FEMA works with every household on a case-by-case basis

In Nebraska, designated counties are Douglas and Washington.

In Iowa, designated counties are Clarke, Harrison, Mills, Polk, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Shelby, and Union

More information: https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4779

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content