Seven Iowa counties under state disaster proclamation

Governor  Kim Reynolds has issued a disaster proclamation for seven north central and northeast Iowa counties because of severe weather, including flooding beginning June 7th.  

The proclamation applies to Allamakee, Bremer, Chickasaw, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Howard and Winneshiek counties.

At this time, the only state resource requested is the activation of the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant and Disaster Case Management programs.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $41,560 for a family of three. 

Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.

5-6" rain, flooding in parts of Iowa, more coming VIDEO PHOTOS
5-6" rain, flooding in parts of Iowa, more coming VIDEO PHOTOS


Content Goes Here