Nine Iowa counties added to disaster list

DES MOINES, Iowa- Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds has issued a disaster proclamation, for nine counties because of severe weather and flooding, beginning June 14th and continuing.

The proclamation applies to Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon,  Osceola, Palo Alto, Scott and Story counties.  

It activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program for qualifying residents.  The program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $41,560 for a family of three. 

Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. 

The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.

Seven Iowa counties under state disaster proclamation
Seven Iowa counties under state disaster proclamation


Content Goes Here